Wheelage tax update

According to the Freedom Foundation of Minnesota’s updated review of recent county board actions, at least 40 counties will impose wheelage taxes in 2014, with total annual projected revenue of approximately $30.9 million. Today is the deadline for county boards to take action if they want to impose the tax in 2014.

The wheelage tax is tacked on to annual license tab renewals. The new law increases the previous cap of $5 per car or truck per year to $10 each year through 2017, and $20 thereafter.

Notably, Olmsted County passed a local option quarter-cent sales tax in addition to the $10 wheelage tax, and the St. Louis County board surprisingly and uncharacteristically voted against imposing the wheelage tax.

Below are the counties where the wheelage tax passed along with annual revenue projections.

Beltrami $340,000 Marshall $115,000

Benton $320,000 Martin $200,000

Brown $286,000 McLeod $357,000

Carver $630,000 Mille Lacs $284,000

Chisago $545,000 Mower $357,000

Clay $460,000 Nobles $204,820

Clearwater $97,000 Norman $76,000

Cottonwood $122,670 Olmsted $1,200,000

Dakota $3,200,000 Pennington $135,000

Dodge $195,000 Polk $304,000

Douglas $360,000 Pope $116,000

Faribault $160,000 Ramsey $3,800,000

Freeborn $290,000 Renville $175,000

Goodhue $450,000 Rice $535,000

Hennepin $8,600,000 Scott $1,000,000

Houston $198,000 Sherburne $750,000

Itasca $420,000 Stearns $1,500,000

Jackson $108,470 Waseca $181,440

Kandiyohi $402,000 Washington $1,960,000

Le Sueur $310,000 Watonwan $114,000

Stay In the Loop

Stay Up To Date

Sign up today for our
e-update to find out what is
going on in your state and
local government.

FFM Tipline

We will do our best to uncover the wasteful spending you report.